Report No. 162/2023 Report of the Area Joint Policing Sub Committees



Breviates of the Dublin City Council Area JPC Sub Committees

In accordance with standing orders of Dublin City Council, the Breviates of the following Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meetings are set out hereunder:

- 1.) Cabra Glasnevin Area Joint Policing Sub Committee held on 25th July 2023
- 2.) North Central Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 17th July 2023
- 3.) North West Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 26th June 2023
- 4.) South Central Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 31st July 2023

Cabra Glasnevin Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on 25th July 2023

In accordance with the Standing Orders of the Dublin City Council, the breviate of the meeting of the Cabra Glasnevin Area Joint Policing Sub Committee held on 25th July is submitted herewith.

1. With reference to the minutes of the meeting held on 25th April 2023.

ORDER: Agreed.

2. With reference to Garda Reports.

ORDER: Reports noted.

3. With reference to Garda Work Plans.

ORDER: Work plans noted.

4. Any other business.

Next meeting 25th October. CDYSB will be invited to next meeting.

Councillor Cieran Perry

Chairperson 25th July 2023

Councillors:

Cieran Perry, Darcy Lonergan, Eimer McCormack, Declan Meenagh, Cat O'Driscoll, Colm O'Rourke

<u>Gardaí</u>

Chief Superintendent Michael McNally, Sergeant Stephen Donnelly, Sergeant John L'Estrange, Sergeant Darren Collier, Superintendent Jonathon O'Brien, Inspector Amanda Flood, Superintendent Cormac Brennan, *Chief Superintendent Patrick McMenamin*, Sarah Middleton, Exec Officer.

Oireachtas

Senator Mary Fitzpatrick, Deputy Neasa Hourigan, Senator Marie Sherlock

<u>Officers</u>

Marie Kavanagh, Emer Wilson, Gráinne O'Grady, Sonya Keniry, Seán Walsh, Lisa Yeates, Maria Browne

Community / Business Reps:

Dorothy Prendergast, Niall Counihan, David Gough, Patricia Dunleavy, Paul O'Farrell.

Apologies

Seámas McGrattan

North Central Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 17th July 2023

1 Minutes of meeting held on 17th April, 2023

Order: Agreed

2 Darndale Implementation Oversight Group

Order: Dympna Mc Cann gave update

3 CCTV

Order: Derek Farrell gave update

4 Garda Report's – Chief Superintendent Mark Curran

Superintendent Darren Mc Carthy - Santry Superintendent Ronan Barry - Coolock Superintendent Ronan Barry on behalf of Majella Armstrong who has moved -Raheny/Clontarf

Order: An Garda Síochána discussed the statistics for DMR North.

5 New Garda Station

Order: Chief Superintendent Mark Curran has advised that this matter is in the hands of the OPW and Dublin City Council at the moment An Garda Síochána are satisfied that this matter is progressing however as Chief Superintendent Mark Curran has retired it was suggested that both Superintendent Ronan Barry & Chief Superintendent Peter Duff will request to go on the committee. Area office to follow up on hand over of this land.

6 Any Other Business and Further Items:

Next meeting: Monday 16th October 2023 at 10.30am via Zoom

Derek Kelly
Director of Services – North City

Councillor Tom Brabazon Chathaoirleach 19th July 2023 Councillor Larry O'Toole Leaschathaoirleach 19th July 2023

Attendance:

Members:

Daryl Barron Rachael Batten Tom Brabazon Dearbhail Butler Donna Cooney Declan Flanagan **Members:**

Terence Flanagan Alison Gilliland Jane Horgan Jones John Lyons Micheal Mac Donncha Naoise O'Muiri Members:

Larry O'Toole Patricia Roe Karl Stanley

Officers

Chief Superintendent Peter Duff Superintendent Ronan Barry Inspector Padraic Lynch Sergeant John Mc Monagle Sergeant Aidan Monaghan Rose Wall Jacinta Carton Mick Carroll
Derek Farrell
Patrick Smith
Gillian Corcoran
Dympna Mc Cann
Niamh Reilly
Fiona Moore

Apologies:

Catherine Cahill

Derek Kelly
Deirdre Murphy
Nicko Murphy Darndale Village Centre

North West Area Joint Policing Sub-Committee meeting held on the 26nd June 2023

The meeting concluded at 16.40pm

There were no items for consideration at the City Council.

Attendance:

Councillors: Keith Connolly, Noeleen Reilly, Anthony Connaghan, Mary

Callaghan, Briege Mac Oscar.

TDs: Deputy Paul McAuliffe, Deputy Dessie Ellis, Deputy Roisin

Shortall

Officials: Derek Kelly (Director of Services), Pat Teehan (Area Manager-

Finglas) Jackie O'Reilly (Area Manager-Ballymun), Derek Healy (Finglas Area Housing Manager), Margaret McGrane (Ballymun Area Housing Manager), Leona Harrison (Senior Staff Officer),

Olive Warnock (Staff Officer).

Gardaí: Superintendent John D McCarthy, Detective Superintendent

David Kennedy, Inspector Kieran Farrelly, Sergeant John

L'Estrange, Sergeant Des Mulvihill

Community Reps: John Redmond, Theresa Lydon

Safety Fora Reps: Shane Smart.

Drugs Task Force: Hugh Greaves.

Others:

Apologies: Lord Mayor Caroline Conroy

Councillor Keith Connolly Chairperson

27th June 2023

South Central Area Joint Policing Sub Committee meeting held on the 31st July 2023

1. Minutes of Meeting held on 24th April, 2023

Order: Agreed

2. Matters Arising.

Order: Meetings to be held as discussed.

3. Correspondence

Order: None.

4. South Central Matters

1. Update on Building Community Resilience.

Order: Noted.

5. Reports from the Community Safety Forums, Four Forums Network and Local Drug and Alcohol Task Forces

- 1. Community Safety Forum Reports responses to issues raised.
- 2. Four Forums Network Report
- 3. Local Drugs and Alcohol Task Force Reports.

Orders: Responses and Reports Noted.

6. Update from City Wide JPC Meeting

Order: Brief synopsis given by Cllr. Doolan of the most recent City Wide Meeting.

7. Garda Matters

Garda reports from: -

- 1. DMR South Division for Crumlin District & Terenure Sub-District.
- 2. DMR South Central Division for Kevin Street and Kilmainham Stations.
- 3. DMR West Division for Ballyfermot Garda Station.

Order: Reports Noted.

8. Anti-social Behaviour

Dublin City Council Estate Management Reports from: -

- 1. Ballyfermot Area Office.
- 2. South West Inner City Area Office.

Order: Reports noted.

9. Workplan Review

Order: Noted.

10. A.O.B. - None

11. Date of next Meeting - 23rd October, 2023 @ 2.30 p.m.

Councillor Daithí Doolan

Chairperson, 31st July 2023

Attendance:

Councillors:

Councillor Daithí Doolan, Councillor Vincent Jackson, and Councillor Michael Watters.

Gardaí:

Chief Superintendent Tony O'Donnell Chief Superintendent Magella Armstrong Chief Superintendent Michael McNulty Superintendent Gary McPolin

Community Safety Forum Representatives

Justin O'Brien, Canals CSF Peter Kavanagh, Ballyfermot/Chapelizod CSF

Local Drug and Alcohol Task Force Representatives

Sharon Bradley, D12LDATF

BCR

Bronadh O'Brien

Community Representative

Joe Fitzgerald

Officials:

Derek Kelly, Director of Services, South Central;
Bruce Phillips, Local Area Manager, SWIC;
Alan Sherry, Local Area Manager, Ballyfermot Area Office;
David O'Donovan, Administrative Officer, DCC, Orchard Community Centre
Gabrielle Malone, Senior Staff Officer, South Central Area;
Nicola O'Kelly, Staff Officer, South Central Area;
David Quearney, South Central Area;

Apologies:

Veronica Hand, DCC Linda Fanning, DCC Evan Moore, SWIC CSF Clara Geaney Ballyfermot LDATF Keri Goodliffe, SICDATF Councillor Máire Devine Councillor Deirdre Cronin